There are two ways in which your driver’s license can be suspended if you have an Alabama license and you are charged with DUI in Alabama. If you are on a public highway and you are stopped then if you refuse the breath test your license can be suspended for up to 90 days if it is your first refusal. If you submit to the breath test and the result is 0.08 or greater then you can also lose your license for up to 90 days administratively.
If you are an out of state driver different penalties apply and your privilege to drive in Alabama can be suspended but Alabama has no legal authority to suspend your driver’s license. If you have an out of state license then you definitely need to look at the issues concerning implied consent warnings and items related to your breath test result.
The other way that your license can be suspended is if you are convicted. This aspect of your case can become very convoluted and complicated depending on the specific issues. This would depend on whether you have a refusal or a breath test on the front-end, what your blood alcohol content was on the drager reading, and whether you have filed a driver’s license appeal lawsuit on the front-end.
Call us today to discuss the driver’s license aspect of your case. Nothing is worse than doing nothing. We look forward to helping you.